top of page

A Writer's Destination


When I first began to write I had no idea what the end result would be like. With this journey I have been on, here I have Pipi, Haulani and company on an adventure of a lifetime that had been only a figment of my impatient imagination when I volunteered them both for this book. To give some idea of their part in a bigger picture, here are some thoughts that you might take for granted when reading our blogs.

Pipi had no name like the one she has on here. I don't even think I had a final name for Pipi. I didn't have a past, present or future either. I had a concept of her, a few positions I had in mind/store for her. The same has to be applied to Haulani. These two have come from the future to be part of this present day setting and I was at a lost of how and where and who are my characters to me that I have to write their world into being way back in the start of our first chapters.

Haulani wasn't even to be so traditional Japanese, etc. He was to be half Samoan/half something Oriental with a whole lot of unknowns for the both of them. 1,000 years into the future I thought that those here on Earth would have been so mixed up genetically that there would always have been questions from the characters over their ancestors cultures as Global Community culture would have predominated everything in my parallel Earth's universe.

These two weren't even to be written, according to me, after I had finished the Sci-Fi/Fantasy saga series I had begun to pursue. I had 20+ draft outlined chapters written - what i will call the skeleton copy - of that first book to go with that series. Pipi and Haulani didn't exist as they do now. The blocks, spiritual ongoing mind-battles, go hand in hand with the confidence I have to finish a project. I was that close to finishing the first book, thinking I had worked through enough on it and having a breakdown gave the time to see that there was so much to do still. I have an ending for this Pipi. Have always had the idea while daydreaming away. I have a game idea and world concept for this futuristic/parallel universe that is still to this day being given to God to have Him protect the vision and to do what He wants with the whole World of Gamechangers' Ink as it has come to be called here and in the blogs and books. This is what makes it so hard to write these three endearing characters in a present day setting. They are bound to the real things that make up this world and in her end I still have to take Pipi and Haulani to the future again.

This is of course meaning I have to trust on God for everything in teaching me to have patience and how to have these important characters of tomorrow blended with who they are today. That led to a potentially dangerous meltdown on my half of our world and six weeks of fighting for the simple ability of writing a full sentence that wasn't telling me to destroy what I had worked so hard to achieve. It took about six months for me to let Holy Spirit coach me in hearing Them again and six of those months was filled with daydreaming and building up the backstories and series that leads Haulani and company to Halifax, Canada to met Pipi.

I have spent time watching anime, watching Korean movies and tv sitcoms, Japanese live action movies with mostly teenagers. I went to see how they created a Japanese/Korean star and the direction that they go with to portray their own country and their thoughts on Japanese men/women, etc. What I got in the end was a new way of treating and seeing Haulani and his extended network of Takahiros and friends.

From growing up with anime and other influences to watching some online, etc there is a lot that is part of Pipi and Haulani's relationship and interactions that is half-irish half-anime in their ongoing roleplaying world and with a lot of God in there too. I grew up watching 80s-90s animation/cartoons, reading Anne McCaffrey's sci-fiction/fantasy to watching Stargate SG-1 with my parents. We went from a legalistic church upbringing to a revival meeting in which I saw so many laughing and falling down and me? Searching the depths of my soul for a new beginning, a clean heart and sobbing uncontrollably at the holiness of God and my own sinfulness at approximately 10 years of age. From an organ that I taught to read Spirituals and Gospel music on to hymns and a Casio being played by my father. From no TV to going to see The Secret Garden, to having HBO at home. There is so much that has influenced the idea that Fantasy allows for the freedom of expression, the escapism and abstract to be explored and allegories to be made without anyone telling me that I was wrong and that there was no need for perfection because that is what editors and everything else to do with writing is for.

I have to take a day at a time these days, thoughts have to be tested and the prophetic revised with the Truth. I have to think through the triggers and the everyday things so I don't go down prophetic paths that lead to dead end streets. I have to think of God and His goodness, and focus on Him. I have to make sure that I have gotten the picture from Him and seek Him when there is conflict to see if a bigger picture is there that He has the insights for.

For now, I will have to leave this idea to think on and to stop writing. Hope to explore these influences and future ideas on further posts in the future so that the point that I had has gotten clarity. A writer's destination is never reached because there is always a tale to be told in a new special perspective. I have left the unfinished tales for my part to write within this novel along with the blogging, website and short stories coming soon. This isn't God's finished work. I am wondering what the future holds, don't we all? Amen.

God Bless each one of you who have travelled along with me, and God Bless each blog reader who endures the long-winded blog posts.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page